Becontree Wheelers Cycling Club

Romford Harlow Cycle Race

British Cycling Federation

Romford-Harlow 26 March 2000

2000 Result

Yorkshire's Wayne Randle outsprinted a leading group of 19 riders to win the 90-miles Romford to Harlow road race on Sunday (March 26).

Randle, one of Britain's most experienced internationals, was competing in the Romford-Harlow race for the first time, and confessed he almost missed out on the final sprint.

"I didn't realise we were so close to the finish," he said. "I saw the
kilometre-to-go board, my legs felt all right so I decided to move up and give it a go."

After 90 miles of racing, Randle won by just two lengths from British track champion Rob Hayles from Portsmouth. Hayles said: "This was an ideal race for my build-up to the Sydney Olympics, it was run off at a high-speed, and
there wasn't too much stop-go."

A full field of 80 riders had signed on for the start at the race sponsor's shop, Rory O'Brien Lightweight Cycles, in North Street, Romford.

There were numerous attacking moves as the race headed north via Theydon Mount, Writtle and Leaden Roding to the finishing circuit at Hatfield Heath.

But they failed to split the field until, with 60 miles covered, a 10-man breakaway group went clear. This lead group gradually grew to 19 as chasers bridged the gap from the main pack.

In a tight finish, all 19 riders in the lead group recorded the same time as race winner Randle.

Leading Essex finisher was Andy Lyons who continued the consistent form he has enjoyed this season by placing ninth.

The main pack of over 50 riders was led home by Manchester-based Will Wright one minute 36 seconds behind the winner.

The 17th edition of the Romford-Harlow was also a counting event for the British Cycling Federation's Premier Calendar series. With three races completed, Randle moves into top spot, ahead of his team-mate John Tanner, with Lyons in third.

How they finished

1. Wayne Randle (Pro Vision-Powerbar) 90 miles in 3 hrs 2mins 50 sec.
2. Rob Hayles (Athletes 1)
3. Steve Stoneman (
www.realcost car imports)
4. Jon Clay (BCF private member)
5. John Tanner (Pro Vision-Powerbar)
. Phil West (Middridge CRT)
7. Julian Ramsbottom (Peter Read Racing)
8. Paul Pickup (Liphook Cycles)
9. Andy Lyons (BCF private member)
10. Chris King (Amore et Vita)          all same time as the winner

Premier Calendar overall (after 3 events).- 

1. Wayne Randle, 65pts;
2, J.Tanner, 55; 
3, A. Lyons, 43; 
equal 4
, R. Downing (unattached) & C. Newton (Middridge CRT) 40; 6, M. Lovatt (Pro Vision-Powerbar) 35; 
7, A. McCaffrey,31; 
equal  8, B. Brooks (Linda McCartney) & K. Dawson (Peter Read Racing)30; 
10, M. Jones (Robert Grinsell Travel) 25.

Sponsored by

Click here to see location of shop.

Travel Trade Products.

Photos by

Becontree Wheelers Clothing supplied by